View count: 6359


In 2009, the NCTU merges the two major departments (Communication Engineering and Electrical and Control Engineering) under the College of Electrical and Computer Engineering into one new department in order to provide well-rounded cross-area and inter-discipline system study to undergraduate students. The Department of Communications Engineering was established in 1966, and has the largest and strongest program in electrical communications in Taiwan. The Department of Electrical and Control Engineering was established in 1965, and focuses their researches on computer control and automation as well as biomedical engineering. The merge of the two departments will have in total 80 full-time faculty members, around 800 undergraduate students, around 500 master students and more than 320 Ph.D. students. With the renowned reputations of both departments in the past, the new department will become one of the largest academic and study environment in Taiwan specific for the electrical engineering.